The first ever TattsLotto draw took place on 24th June 1972 and was televised on the Melbourne television station HSV7. This Lotto is run by Tattersalls, a company founded by George Adams in 1881. George Adams arrived in Australia from England at the age of 16 and in 1881 he ran the first public sweep stake on the Sydney Cup. It wasn't until 1897 that Tattersalls were first granted a licence by the Tasmanian State Government to operate the first government approved lottery in Australia.

It is worth noting that whilst some states in Australia know this lottery at TattsLotto (Victoria, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory) the game is marketed under different names in different regions. For example in Queensland it is known as Gold Lotto whilst in South Australia it is referred to as the X Lotto. In New South Wales and Western Australia it is known as the Lotto or Saturday Lotto.

The current matrix of the TattsLotto 6/45 and there are six prize levels. The sixth division prize level was only introduced in January 2011 (draw number 3081) and bought with it more prizes and more winners for the TattsLotto.

Division / Prize Tier Required to Win Odds
1 Match 6 main numbers 1 : 8,145,060
2 Match 5 main numbers and 1 or 2 supplementary numbers 1 : 678,755
3 Match 5 main numbers 1 : 36,689
4 Match 4 main numbers 1: 733
5 Match 3 main numbers 1: 297
6 Match 1 or 2 main numbers and 2 supplementary numbers 1: 144
Overall Odds of Winning a Prize 1 : 85

The Prize Division percentages are as follows for TattsLotto:

  • Division 1 28%
  • Division 2 3.8%
  • Division 3 8.2%
  • Division 4 12.4%
  • Division 5 20.8%
  • Division 6 26.8%

Since the change in the TattsLotto rules to include the Division 6 prize tier will start at an estimated $4 million meaning that more often than not a standard Saturday draw will produce jackpots of over $4 million. Should there be no Division 1 winners in any given week then the jackpot will rollover to the next draw. However TattsLotto has a cap on the number of rollovers at four. Should the fifth draw still not produce any Division 1 winners then the money allocated to this Division will roll down to the next lower Division that produces winners.

Material Copyright © 2014 National-Lottery.com. Affiliated with Camelot UK Lotteries Limited for marketing purposes only. The content and operations of this website have not been approved or endorsed by Camelot UK Lotteries Limited, the National Lottery Commission or SLE.

Sitemap  |  Privacy  |  Scams